READ UP · Visions for a new world

Trillions, White Pines and Banded Rudderfish

By Lara Trace (a fisherman’s  wife)

Wrap your brain around this:

In August 2016, the Defense Department’s inspector general affirmed once again (following on 2013 disclosures) that the agency has little knowledge of where its money goes — this time admitting that the Department of the Army had made $6.5 trillion in accounting “adjustments” that appeared simply to be made up out of thin air, just to get the books balanced for 2015. (In part, the problem was laid to 16,000 financial data files that simply disappeared with no trace.) “As a result,” reported Fortune magazine, “there has been no way to know how the Defense Department — far and away the biggest chunk of Congress’s annual budget — spends the public’s money.” [Fortune, 8-19-2016]

Wait, what?

I think the readers of this blog could think of a million (or trillion) things to do to benefit our world with $6.5 trillion. RIGHT? (End homelessness, feed everyone, give tribes their land back, build new bridges, just to name a few…)

Leave me a comment on how you would spend a million (or billion) to make the world better… I found that news Here at News of the Weird…

This story also on News of the Weird made me so happy.

Trees talk to each other and recognize their offspring, according to Australian ecology researcher Suzanne Simard (most recently lecturing on the influential video series TED Talks). Trees are not independent organisms but belong to arboreal “families” with characteristics identifying them to other family members. According to Dr. Simard, “mother” trees that ordinarily expand their roots wildly may hold back to give nearby “kinfolk” tree roots a chance to spread.  Using “isotope tracing,” she learned of trees passing healthful carbon, via fungi, to neighboring family seedlings, which she said renders the seedlings more resistant to future stress. [Treehugger, 7-29-2016] [Daily Telegraph (London), 9-11-2016]

Suzanne Simard: How trees talk to each other | TED Talk Subtitles

Right behind where I live, there is a white pine family beside a small creek – one younger white pine I am particularly fond of and I have encouraged it to grow big and tall…and it has grown each year since I moved here in 2004. It’s much taller than me now. Two of those pine trees have a bunch of orange needles now… Can anyone help me understand what that means and what I might do?

“Trees, in each of these very different places, helped me understand and adjust to the environment in which I lived…. We also look to trees for healing — not only in the medicinal sense, but for spiritual healing, comfort and solace.” – Ruth Wilson

10 Most Magnificent Trees in the World – Neatorama

In the Gordon/Wascott/Minong area, there were many white pine on Crystal Lake where my adoptive parents built a home and retired. The trees there were always big and tall and healthy and numerous… having them here in Massachusetts reminds me of northern Wisconsin and that life…

[Last year a beaver made the creek into something much larger and I was happy when a pair of geese called it home a short time but then the new beaver dam was taken down by some living here… I thought that was criminal but had no say in the process…]

OK: Here’s a mystery for us.  How did a fish from the Gulf of Mexico wind up swimming off Nantucket?  We fish the Atlantic Ocean and the boat captain claims this fish made it all the way in a gulf current.

Banded Rudderfish (caught on the Sea Queen a couple weeks ago)

banded-rudderfish

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

I hope you all have a beautiful autumn season and harvest… we’re are just seeing the change of color here…

falling-leaves2

The leaf peepers will be all over New England now…

xoxoxoxo

7 thoughts on “Trillions, White Pines and Banded Rudderfish

  1. “End homelessness, feed everyone, give tribes their land back, build new bridges, just to name a few…”

    Sounds like an excellent list to me, LT! All the hurting people in this world, and they lose 6.5 trillion dollars, and don’t even give a damn!

    On the subject of trees. Years ago, my parents lived near a state sanctuary, a small forest that sat by a good sized lake. This was while I was in college, and so I would spend my Summers there. I loved walking in that forest; it was cool, and the air was oxygen filled and fresh, the natural aromas, the earthiness, was overwhelming. And beyond this, I always felt a sense of belonging, a sense of ease and safety, when I was surrounded by those trees and brush.

    We are all part of the universe, a part of this magnificent designed-creation. But most of us spend our lives detached from the rest of the creation that surrounds us all, and this, I believe, is why so many of us are ill, and not only physically, but mentally, emotionally and spiritually as well.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Have you ever been to Europe?

        As a musician, I toured France, Switzerland and Germany in the Summer of 1978. And Germany’s Black Forest, in particular, was overwhelmingly beautiful. The trees were so thick that it was almost dark, thus the black forest name.

        Yes, I agree, LT!

        Like

Let's discuss!

