CHASING BUCKS TO CHASING WORDS | The Feast—Reflections On War

By J. Glenn Evans

Broker Jim is the first of three novels that I have written. Like many first novels a lot of it is biographical, somewhat like Jack London’s Martin Eden. My early ambition was to be a writer. Grazing about in my hometown library of Wewoka, Oklahoma when I was a junior in high school, I picked up a book and read that if you really want to accomplish something you have to drive the desire into a white hot passion. That struck me as important. So, at that early age I started writing page after page of “Great Rich Writer, Great Rich Writer” to build up my desire to a white heat.  It was some years later that I figured out that the title of that book was Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill.

Later, while a senior in high school, I was sitting on the front porch of my grandfather’s place with my rich uncle from Oregon. He was in the process of building a huge fortune in lumber, oil, real estate and banking. He asked me, like older folks often do, to make conversation with young folks, what I wanted to do with my life.

I said, “I want to be a great rich writer.”

He smiled and leaned his cane-bottom chair back up against the wall, and said, “If you want to get rich you go where the money is.”

“Where is that?” I asked.

He plopped back down on all fours, finding that leaning up against the wall dressed in a business suit and tie on a hot summer day uncomfortable. He said, “If I were a young fella starting out and wanted to get rich, I’d become a stockbroker.”

That was 1948 and I asked, “Stockbroker, what’s that? Aren’t they the fellows who jump off a buildings because they don’t want to be poor?”

He didn’t think that was funny from the expression on his face. Then, quite seriously, he said, “They deal with people who have money. They buy and sell interests in corporations, you know, stocks and bonds. In this business you learn how to make money on other people’s money.  You should give some serious thought to it.  When I get back to Oregon, I’ll send you some information.”

That got me to thinking. I wanted to be a great rich writer. I had read about the long years of poverty that many writers have to go through. I thought, why not get rich as a stockbroker first. It would give me a chance to meet a lot of interesting people and good background for writing. So I started reading books and magazines on finance and newspapers such as the Wall Street Journal. I worked through lots of different jobs to survive and get a college education. Then I spent four long years at Boeing because no brokerage firm would hire me, being new to Seattle and having no book of clients.

I finally got a break and a local over-the-counter firm hired me as a beginning stockbroker. It was a hell of an uphill battle plus living through a bad marriage that gave me a good insight in what hell must be like. Then success slowly begin to come. I worked my way up through three different firms to vice president and finally started my own local securities business. In five years I built up to three offices and 40 brokers and was on top of the world. Then misfortune struck and brought me down. All this time my writing career was limited to writing and producing a monthly stockbroker newsletter.

It was then that I again set out to pursue a writing career with the same passion that I had chased bucks before. That was 1986, forty years after my original passion to be a writer. In my last year in the brokerage business, I made more money in a week than I ever have made in a year as a writer. But, I never have regretted that career move. We begin to get and just it’s amazing how it started out just as a simple hello my between you

My whole being went into writing Broker Jim. It is more than the usual get rich stockbroker story. In it you meet a medley of fascinating characters and recognize the drive and passion it takes to build a great company. You see you see the human foibles, the conflicts, struggles, setbacks and the frustrations of dealing with bureaucrats. There’s a lot of human passion and humanity in the story. I’ve had several people tell me that Broker Jim is a story that they would not have wanted to miss reading. One newspaper office manager describes Broker Jim as one of the funniest books that she has ever read. Regardless of what one’s own career has been, you will see similarities that will bring chuckles when they tweak your memories. For young folks there are many lessons in the book to be learned in pursuing their dream.

If I have whetted your curiosity, Broker Jim is available on Kindle at $5.95. An autographed print copy is available from SCW Publications for $15.95. Buy a print copy of Broker Jim and you will receive a free copy of Window in the Sky, my first poetry book that retails for $11.95 or if you prefer you can receive a free copy of my latest poetry book The Feast – Reflections On War that retails for $10. Broker Jim can also be ordered from our website, www.poetswest.com/books.htm where PayPal is available. The same deal applies on orders for Broker Jim, but I will inquire which specific gift you prefer after the order is received.

SCW Publications

606 Lilly Rd. NE., #514

Olympia, Washington 98509

360.459.9288

JGE2@poetswest.com

www.poetswest.com/books.htm

To order a print copy of Broker Jim, send $15.95+1.8% for sales tax if you are in Washington State+$2.00 for S&H.(Be sure a choose your free gift of Window In the Sky or The Feast—Reflections On War)

WHAT PEOPLE SAY ABOUT BROKER JIM

J. Glenn Evans has captured the frustrations, hardships and humor that small brokerage houses have had to face—William Riddling, retired Lt. colonel & stockbroker-banker

The stories by Mark Twain, Joyce Cary and Kingsley Amis are full of comic goodwill with characters who wrestle with their own individual morals amid those of society. Broker Jim is a quintessential American story in which Jim Bradley, the protagonist, navigates the world of women, money and the stock market. The combination of dead-serious innocence and eccentric humor in the author’s unique voice makes this novel a hilarious romp that is unforgettableBevans, editor

We liked [Evans’s] work because of its delightful use of narrative, wit, warmth, and folksy quality. I have never read a book written from the point of view of a stockbroker. It was a new world for me—and that’s why I like to read—The Rock River Times, Christine Swanberg, author and poet

Everyone in Seattle has a not so happy story to tell about their recent adventures in the current bubble stock market — chasing coffee, genetics and software companies. The author of this book has something new to say, about an older Seattle growing up. You learn about some of the less known start-up businesses. You follow in the footsteps of a young man growing up in the most competitive of business worlds. This is an experience not to miss.Sheri Harper, poet

J. Glenn Evans’s Broker Jim is in the picaresque On the Road, or Huckleberry Finn tradition of American literature. It’s the story of a down-home boy who tries to make good as a stockbroker. Evans actually provides a cast list of characters in the front [of the book] and it’s a good thing, too. Jim’s journey is leavened by Evans’s humor, a good ear for dialogue, and laced with a colorful vernacular reminiscent of Mark Twain. His true entrepreneurial spirit puts him up against the humorless bean counters of the world and “Big Bellies.”—Michael Magee, poet, playwright and critic

One of the funniest books I have ever readOffice Manager of Wewoka Times

I confess stock brokering is not a favorite subject―but you kept me interested. It moved right along. I wonder if a stranger can hear YOUR voice telling it as clearly as I did. I couldn’t anticipate how the story ends. It’s a nice surpriseNancy Abercrombie, poet and author of The Way of the Phoenix

This is the first time I have written to a living author. I write it to you for Broker Jim. Because I earned my living in the market for about 12 years, your book is especially welcome to me, your use of metaphors grand.…Congratulations on a great book! Finegan Gross, writer

The power of Evans’s writing became self-evident to me because it compelled me to read (and learn about) the cut-throat world of brokering. It’s a rags to riches…story chock full of interesting characters drawn to the spell of the latest El Dorado, Seattle.Michael Yaeger, painter, novelist, author of Dahlia Connection

Broker Jim is a writer’s gem! A real jewel, a wonderful story well toldTravis Abbott, reader and physician

I greatly enjoyed reading [Broker Jim]. You have a wonderful way with your characters―they often made me laugh out loud. And the villains are equally enticing.―Ursula Zilinsky, novelist

…a good read!…good flow and rh ythm. The central character is attractive, sympathetic and remarkably consistent.…The minor characters are believable and just eccentric enough to keep the reader turning the pages to see what their destinies are, especially in the context of said own fortunes.…David A. Hecker, poet and writer

Copyleft 2016 J. Glenn Evans

(Feel free to copy and distribute as broadly as possible)

SCW Publications

606 Lilly Rd. NE., #514

Olympia, Washington 98509

360.459.9288

JGE2@poetswest.com

www.poetswest.com/books.htm

To order a print copy of Broker Jim, send $15.95+1.8% for sales tax if you are in Washington State+$2.00 for S&H. (Be sure a choose your free gift of Window In the Sky or The Feast—Reflections On War)

Note from Trace: I have read The Feast—Reflections On War and it’s the best poetry I have read on this topic… please read all of J Glenn’s work…

the feast

Let's discuss!

