I HAD A VISION

Guest Post By  J. GLENN EVANS

I found old Roman coins spread on the sidewalk.  I took them home with me. That evening, a warm summer night, out on the front porch, I looked at the stars. I picked one of the coins from my pocket and held it in my hand.

As I sat there with my eyes closed a vision came into my mind.  I saw an old, broken down man dressed in an ancient robe looking at me.

He smiled, and said, “My, aren’t we lucky? You chose one of my coins that were stolen from me when the Barbarians sacked my estate in Rome.”

He made a swing of his hand and showed me a vast estate with many slaves from different countries working for him.  “This was once all mine, but I ended up scratching for a living like these slaves I once owned.  I thought I was above working in the fields like slaves.  Then we became comrades and I learned to appreciate poor, exploited people, often poor through no fault of their own.

“Many never had a chance to acquire an estate like I did.  I inherited it from my father, who was an officer in the Roman Legion.  He took it from some regional prince we conquered.  So I can’t really feel badly toward those Barbarians who took it from me.  We Romans had done the same thing to others before us.  I’ve come to appreciate the brotherhood and sisterhood of all humanity  Why should some of us live on a vast estates, enslave people and accumulate enough to cover our needs for a thousand years and yet a thousand others go hungry or be enslaved for the benefit of a few? Your country reminds me of my old Rome where the laws were structured to serve the propertied few.  People with property make the laws for all.  They keep up the delusion that you have a democracy of all and like a bunch of dumb clucks most people still believe it.

“How foolish it is for people to pay allegiance to any government that prevents them from having a vote.  When a country is set up that denies them political participation or is ruled by a few elites exploiting the masses, people should resist.  Do not serve in their wars of aggression.  Break up the big estates and re-distribute a few acres to families who will grow food for themselves and other people. On such vital necessities as food, shelter, medical supplies and services, that require larger operations, they should be publicly owned.

“When you see corruption and bribery for special favors by briber and bribed, they both should be held accountable.  What I’d like to see is lock them together, arm and leg, for a few months as punishment for their crimes against the general public and confiscate half of their estates for the common good.  Let them see how much they love each other after that.

“We were so powerful in Rome that we thought we had the right to rule the world just like your present rich and powerful who think they are above the law.  My advice to you is break up the big blocks of wealth over a certain amount for the benefit of all.

Debt is just another form of slavery.  You are plagued by Banksters just like we were.  They have a way of enslaving people with debt who never become free.  These money bankers know the power of compound interest to gain control of a country and its citizens.  Now they are moving to control the world with their globalization.  Don’t let them get away with it.  Take the mega corporations and big banks into public ownership.  Declare an international debt jubilee.  Break up the big estates at change of generations by severe inheritance taxes.  When over $10 million are left to a single legacy, take 95% of the over $10 million into the common good by inheritance taxes.  Industries that require economy of size such as transportation or ownership of natural resources should be taken into public ownership for the benefit of all.

“You’ve seen what big wealth in the hands of a few do to your democracy.  Put some limits against big private estates; limit them by taxation for the benefit of the commons.  The main objective that all countries should strive to accomplish is to see that all their people have been adequately provided with the basic requirements for life: food, shelter, health care and education to survive in a modern civilization.  Get control of your population.  You are crowding out all other life.  What do you want to do, start eating each other? When the Jews foisted their Bible on everybody that declared, “Go forth and be fruitful,” it didn’t mean all your production had to come from the bedroom.  Humanity is consuming the world.  You can solve that problem easily; just limit births to one per couple for three or four generations.  Anyone who disobeys, after the second birth, fix them so they cannot have anymore and give their second child to a family that cannot bear children. Don’t allow the smart-ass rich to buy the birth privileges of those who abstain.

“Back in my day we may have had an excuse; we were ignorant.  Today, with all of your knowledge from past histories of mistakes, you still allow these giant corporate capitalists to destroy your earth by polluting and destruction of your environment, all in the name of greed.  Put a stop to it now before it is too late. Today’s abuses are more critical than the excesses of the nobility that caused the French revolution.  Remember, my friend, we all belong to earth, not the other way around.  If we allow this wasteful destruction to continue there will be no livable earth for anything or anyone.  Now I have spoken and must go”

“May I return your coin?”

He smiled and said, “No, I live in another dimension where we have no need for such things. We know what the living or doing and are concerned for you and what you do to each other. Change your mindset from greed and self-interest to what you can do for each other and you will be happy.”

He smiled, turned and disappeared from my vision.

Copyleft 2016 J. Glenn Evans

(Feel free to copy and distribute to others.)

J. Glenn Evans

Part Cherokee, Evans spent his early youth on a small farm in Oklahoma during the dust bowl days of the Great Depression. Lived in Seattle 54 years and now resides in Olympia, Washington since December of 2014.  Worked in a lumber mill, operated a mining company and co-produced a movie, Christmas Mountain-the Story of a Cowboy Angel, with Mark Miller and co-starring Slim Pickens.  Early on he wanted to become a writer, but was side-tracked for twenty years by the advice of a wealthy uncle to “go where the money is.”  He pursued the career of stockbroker and investment banker and became owner and president of a securities firm with three offices and forty brokers.  Founder of PoetsWest and Activists for a Better World, currently hosts PoetsWest at KSER 90.7FM, a nationally syndicated weekly radio show.  In addition to five books of poetry and three novels, Evans has written numerous political essays and is the author of several local community histories.  Current work in process is a novel to be called The Last Lumber Baron.

BOOKS BY J. GLENN EVANS—Broker Jim now on Kindle

www.poetswest.com/books.htm

POETSWEST WEBSITE

http://www.poetswest.com/

POETSWEST YOUTUBE

http://www.youtube.com/poetswest1

PoetsWest Radio Programs

http://www.poetswest.com/radio_programs.htm

Let's discuss!

