What I am reading: Simon Moya-Smith and Opinionated Man

Simon Moya-Smith: Pope Francis must offer more than apology

A statue of Junipero Serra with an Indian boy. Photo by Anatoly Terentiev / Wikipedia

Simon Moya-Smith, a member of the Oglala Sioux Tribe, calls on Pope Francis to repeal the church edicts that have been used to justify the taking of Indian lands:

Fifteen years ago, Pope John Paul II apologized for hundreds of years of violence and subjugation that the indigenous peoples of the Americas suffered at the hands of Catholics. Pope Francis, speaking in Bolivia, followed this up in July by expressing remorse over the cruelty committed against the indigenous peoples of the Americas. “I say this to you with regret: Many grave sins were committed against the native people of America in the name of God,” he said. “I humbly ask forgiveness, not only for the offense of the church herself, but also for crimes committed against the native peoples during the so-called conquest of America.” So why is he set to canonize someone whose actions would seem to fly in the face of such encouraging words? This week, during his first visit to the United States, the Pope is expected to canonize 18th-century Franciscan Friar Junipero Serra, who arrived in 1769 and founded nine of California’s 21 Spanish Catholic missions. The problem is that Serra is also documented as being an extreme and unapologetic abuser of the indigenous peoples of the Pacific Coast..

Get the Story:
Simon Moya-Smith: Junipero Serra no saint (CNN 9/23)

Indeed, according to Elias Castillo, author of “A Cross of Thorns: The Enslavement of California’s Indians by the Spanish Missions,” Serra would brutally beat and whip men, women and children in order to force obedience among the Indians. Castillo also writes that Serra celebrated the demise of Indian children, referring to their deaths as a “harvest.”
More on INDIANZ.com: apologies, california, genocide, junipero serra, pope francis, religion, simon moya-smith

img_1416-58A Opinionated Man, a Korean adoptee Jason Cushman

Source: A Struggle to Feel Accepted

My adoption story received a lot of views and was a create way for me to finally pour out how I saw and felt during the course of those events in my life. It was a trying period and no one can really say they understand what I went through because there was only one Korean kid walking in those shoes. I am thankful for such support during those times, my family and mother in particular helped me to see there are reasons for living even in the darkest of hours. It is just very hard to know that when you are living those moments. I was adopted when I was 3 years old, left on the street with my sister by our mother in front of a police station in Busan, South Korea. I did not find out about the part of the story involving my sister and birth mother till I was eighteen years old and was on a trip to Korea with a group of adoptees that were also adopted through Holt International. It took me 9 years and one suicide attempt to get over it all and I can’t actually say I honestly have moved fully forward. Do you ever? I may still write more on my adoption other than the few articles I wrote on it. It would make a good novel, but sometimes you just don’t feel like reopening a door over and over.

I think in many ways blogs are windows into our hearts. We allow people to see our feelings, emotions, and sometimes our personal stories because we feel the need to share without actually physically sharing. We press that publish button and that post is sent out into the web and we half fear, half hope that someone will read it and care enough to respond. That the response back will somehow matter. That is what I hope when I publish any article on my blog and I also seek out other bloggers that feel the same way. Simply because we are unsocial in the real world, and I really wouldn’t fully label myself as unsociable but more on that later, doesn’t mean we cannot still find connections that broaden our world.


=====These two I had to share now. I will be writing more…soon…Lara Trace==============

6 thoughts on “What I am reading: Simon Moya-Smith and Opinionated Man

  1. You are correct in that no one can fully comprehend how you feel about what was your own experience but so many of us have similar emotions based upon our own sad or tragic experiences. I do empathize and can share your feelings regarding posting, the moment of anxiety as you publish, hoping that someone will find meaning in your words. For me it is a combination of things. Firstly, there is the desire of wanting to be seen, having felt so invisible for most of my life, although I would loathe being in any kind of real spotlight. Rather, it is about those moments when someone stops, cocks their head, and you know they are truly interested in what you have to say. Also, I always hope someone can find comfort in knowing they aren’t alone, that we all struggle and there will always be help when they need it most. I am amazed daily by how afraid most people are of a simple thing like a hug. A hug from someone who cared has save me from the depths many times. Sending you a genuine cyber hug and best of everything in finding yours sister. I saw that post re blogged by another writer and posted it to my g+ and FB accounts. Take care my friend.

    Like

Let's discuss!

