Adoption Controversy · End Human Trafficking

I filled a need: Infertility epidemic

read this new book
read this new book

By Lara/Trace

We know there is a growing infertility epidemic. You’d have to google what chemicals are causing this in both men and women.  Infertility creates a demand for newborn infants.  If we connect the dots, we’ll see how this creates a population of people who wish to raise children despite their medical condition of infertility. The preferred way to remedy this will be adopting an infant. That is how the adoption industry has grown today and will still need to find a supply of newborns.

Data shows a rising scarcity of adoptable children. We know the trafficking industry will react. The state welfare departments (and those who work in the billion dollar adoption industry) who handle these transactions and placements of these children will be hurt financially. They don’t want that.

Demand in the U.S. for adopting “voluntarily relinquished” domestic infants (newborns and fresh flesh) and young children (healthy and white) remains high, while the availability of these children is low and shrinking.  Estimates indicate that ten years ago less than 14,000 children were voluntarily relinquished in the U.S. each year due to an increase in women who choose to be single mothers.  In addition, over the last decade the adoption industry has faced decreasing rates of international adoption prospects, primarily due to changes in policies by foreign governments, like Russia recently. The new reality is that 62% fewer children are available from other countries than a decade ago.  According to U.S. Department of State Office of Children’s Issues a decline from 23,000 international adoptions in 2004 to around 8,700 in 2011.

The number of families and individuals looking to adopt is only increasing during this decline in options.  As some in the adoption industry attempt to remain afloat, Indian Country and other Third World countries will once again be a primary target.

Some of this increase in adoption demand is driven by calls for capable families and individuals to adopt – especially in the faith community. Take for example the Southern Baptist Convention’s 2009 resolution calling on its 45,000 churches and nearly 16 million members “to pray for guidance as to whether God is calling them to adopt or foster a child or children.”

What I do know is my closed adoption as a newborn literally and slowly destroyed me emotionally. I was trapped, told what to believe, told how to behave and had no choice but to accept that my adoption was sealed by law and I would never know who I really am or be able to meet my birth parents. I searched for answers, for people, for years. At age 38, in reunion with my birthfather, he told me he would have raised me.  It hit me that I could never replace those missing years with my dad, my sister and brothers.  Adoption destroyed years of my life. There was no way to get it back.

Being trafficked, I was adopted out when I had two living first parents. I was not an orphan. I was placed with an infertile couple who lost two children to miscarriage.

I filled a need.

 

5 thoughts on “I filled a need: Infertility epidemic

          1. This is just one solution. It doesn’t address those who are perfectly healthy and infertile. There are drug addicts who are perfectly fertile so being healthy isn’t everything when it comes to fertility.

            Like

Let's discuss!

