10 answers on blogging, Kindle and my life in general

Kindle Fire
Kindle Fire

Von at The Life of Von blog posed these questions (as part of the Leibster Award nominations) and I am going to take a minute and answer them…

Read more about the blog award and my friend Von here:  https://laratracehentz.wordpress.com/2014/01/08/the-visionary-life-of-von-liebster-awards/

1. How is blogging working out for you?

I love it more than I ever imagined. I started on Blogger in 2009 and now have two wordpress blogs (including this website) and 2 tumblr blogs. It’s crazy I blog so much.  It’s a good place to write and post on all kinds of things!  A few years ago, I decided to teach a beginners blogging course at the local college. I also run a blog for my class. It’s a lot of blog, I know. (I also help others set up their blogs). But I am a student of life and I am still learning.

2. What is your favourite way of writing?

I type most things on the computer but poems and more emotionally-based writing is still best done by my hand – pen to paper.

3. What things assist your writing processes?

Space! I had to rearrange the office and computer to be next to the window to see and hear the birds I feed – this seems to be the best place for me to start a writing project… I can work day and night and not disturb my dear husband. I also carry a small notebook for ideas that pop into my head so I don’t forget my thoughts. This all works very well for me,

4. Books or Kindle?

Both actually. I love my Kindle Fire but there are many books on my shelf that I refuse to part with.  EBooks and Kindle will become even more popular in the future, I am sure.

5. Do you have a favourite place to write?

I used to sit at the dining room table when I started handwriting my memoir – without fail it was 4:30 am – this went on over two years! It was and is necessary for me to have quiet and silence.

6. When do you write?

I write day and night. Pretty much every day too.

7. Has life offered you challenges and opportunities which inform your writing?

I told myself as a 20-something that I would be a writer when I gained some life experience. I worked many years at all kinds of jobs- developing confidence and the skills that I needed to become “the writer.” Now that I am a former newspaper editor, those skills really help me finish the manuscript.

Being an adoptee and searching for so many years taught me to be patient and courageous. I wouldn’t change a thing.

8. Where do you look for inspiration?

Mostly books. I read others writing – especially blogs like Von’s and many many others. The Lost Daughters blog (where Von and I contribute) has inspired me often, too. I read lots of poetry and bury my head in history as often as I can.

I can look out my window and be inspired – so anything and everything inspires me.

9. R&R?

That’s changing since my husband Herb retired. We walk when weather permits. We go to the Cape so he can fish and I can read, get sun and watch waves. I am working on a work-life balance now and its evolving.

10. What can’t you live without?

Honesty, I could not do all this without my husband’s love and support. So the answer is my husband Herb.

To read Von’s answers to my nomination questions, go here: http://eagoodlife.wordpress.com/2014/01/02/liebster-awards/

Changing my name is happening in 2014
Changing my name is happening in 2014

And visit my new blog: www.lara-oar.blogspot.com – my life is my experiment!

One thought on “10 answers on blogging, Kindle and my life in general

Let's discuss!

