Poets on Adoption

Sleeps_with_Knives_Cover_for_KindleThere is an amazing blog that features Poets on Adoption. I did an interview with them.

Read it here: http://poetsonadoption.blogspot.com/2012/09/trace-demeyer.html

You will see under the tab ABOUT ME: BOOKS: I did a poetry chapbook called Sleeps With Knives in 2012, using a penname Laramie Harlow. The chapbook is on Amazon.com and Kindle.
If you’d like to read a free copy on your computer (pdf), send me an email:
tracedemeyer@yahoo.com or leave a comment on this post with your email…
ghost shell

what we inherit. . . a ghost shell. . .
I dream of this, the weight,
a tortoise shell on my back, a heavy hull.
Did I choose its protection? I was asleep.
No one ever said, “You can drop it now” or
“It’s safe to drop that, you’ll be ok.”
Maybe the shell did protect me at one time
when I needed armor.
Maybe it isolated me for reasons
I do not know or understand.
It was heavy and hard to balance.
When I woke up, I could feel its weight.
I can still feel it, like a ghost,
like an arm or leg amputated.
Somehow it still signals my brain,
“Protect yourself.”
Maybe my mother put this shell on me before she left me.
Maybe I inherited it, like a talisman.
Maybe the shell was what women in my family wore to survive.
All I know is I was born with it.
Let's discuss!

